Goals For 2015 (includes Book List)

Wow. 2015.

Well, there are many things that I always want to do every year. But in the same token I always know that it seems those things don’t all happen.

I have decided to make a list of a couple things I am hoping for 2015.

1) Improve in my walk with God. 
How this will happen:
-Spending more time in prayer.
-Spending more time in God’s word.
-Reading more about God.
-Serve others more.

2) Improve as a husband.
How this will happen:
-Pray for my wife daily.
-Pray with just my wife daily.
-Serve my wife daily.
-Listen to my wife daily.
-Date my wife better then 2014.
-Read on marriage.

3) Improve as a father.
How this will happen:
-Pray for my children daily.
-Pray with my children daily.
-Listen to my children daily.
-Seek individual time with my children.

4) Improve as a leader.
How this will happen:
-Pray that God would shape me and give me opportunities.
-Pray for my people daily.
-Spend more time with my church family.
-Listen to those in our community well.
-Serve our members well.
-Study the word more intently.

5) Improve as a writer.
How this will happen:
-Write More.
-Read More.
-Find my areas that need growth.
-Spend more time getting critiqued and guided with more experienced and adapt writers.
-Figure out my lane and stay within it.
Material Goals:
-Buy a minivan for my family of 6.
-Finish our basement.
-Reconstruct the shed.

With all of this I felt the need to include a book list. These are books I would like to read for 2015. Others may come but these have to be a priority.

(Sorry the Book List looks a little chaotic.)

Here are books I want to finish:

Church Elders: How to Sheph... Church Elders: How to Shepherd God’s People Like Jesus
by Jeramie Rinne
Letters to a Birmingham Jai... Letters to a Birmingham Jail: A Response to the Words and Dreams of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
by Bryan Loritts (Editor)
The Heart of the Cross The Heart of the Cross
by James Montgomery Boice
What Is a Healthy Church Member?
title

author

The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness
title

author

Being a Dad Who Leads Being a Dad Who Leads
by John MacArthur

And here are a list of Books I plan on tackling in 2015.(I will add some as time goes)

Here are some for theological and spiritual growth:

Mere Christianity Mere Christianity
by C.S. Lewis
The Great Divorce The Great Divorce
by C.S. Lewis
Knowing God Knowing God
by J.I. Packer
Prayer: Experiencing Awe an... Prayer: Experiencing Awe and Intimacy with God
by Timothy Keller
The Cross of Christ The Cross of Christ
by John R.W. Stott,
Strange Fire: The Danger of... Strange Fire: The Danger of Offending the Holy Spirit with Counterfeit Worship
by John MacArthur
Orthodoxy Orthodoxy
by G.K. Chesterton

For my Marriage:

This Momentary Marriage: A ... This Momentary Marriage: A Parable of Permanence
by John Piper
Catching Foxes: A Gospel-Gu... Catching Foxes: A Gospel-Guided Journey to Marriage
by John Henderson

For my Parenting(Finish being a dad who leads by John Macarthur):

Stepparent to Stepparent: A... Stepparent to Stepparent: Answers to Fifty Common Questions Stepparents Ask
by Margaret Smith-Broersma

For my writing:

The Writing Life The Writing Life
by Annie Dillard
Bird by Bird: Some Instruct... Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life
by Anne Lamott

Here are some general reads(secular)

Change Anything: The New Sc... Change Anything: The New Science of Personal Success
by Kerry Patterson, Joseph Grenny, David Maxfield
In the Spirit of Crazy Horse In the Spirit of Crazy Horse
by Peter Matthiessen,
Bud, Not Buddy Bud, Not Buddy
by Christopher Paul Curtis
Night Comes to the Cumberlands: A Biography of a Depressed Area
title

author

The Anatomy of Peace: Resol... The Anatomy of Peace: Resolving the Heart of Conflict
by Arbinger Institute
Lady Sings the Blues
title

author

The History of Jazz
title

author

One response to “Goals For 2015 (includes Book List)

  1. Hope to you that happy year

Leave a Reply

