Singleton Camping @ Land Between the Lakes

Well, I just got back from camping with my family. Sometimes I will write on big issues and seek to gain readership from those articles and then there are moments like now when I want to wrtie on something personal that I feel no one will enjoy.

Then I sit back, take a drink of Ale-8 and say “Forget about it!” This is my blog so I can write about whatever. Sorry, but sometimes writers can feel pressured to treat each writing piece as the next big issue write-up that will get tons of reads. This won’t be that type of piece. But it’s something I am very excited about personally.

This weekend my family went camping. And it was M-a-r-v-e-l-o-u-s.

I went to college in Upstate New York at a Bible College called Word Of Life Bible Institute. I loved it and look forward to going back one day to visit. It’s one year of studying the bible intensly in the Adirondack Mountains. I mean, does it get better? Mountains and Jesus.

So while there I made friends with 4 guys who are cousins. They are all from Michigan and abnoxiously boast everything that is Michigan and deem everything else as being disreputable. Especially the entire state of Ohio.

So after the year was over we all would get together and camp together in the UP(Upper Peninsula) of Michigan. It has been some of the funnest and best times of my life. We camp at a lake called Tank Lake. It’s usually 30 guys and just amazing.

Well, it’s a hike to get up there and I hope to be able to take my sons up there. But in the same token, I want to have something closer to home that I can take our kids to that would be an amazing similar camping trip.

Last year my wife and kids and I went to a local state park, only about an hour away. We camped and had a blast.

This year we decided to up the ante and found this beautiful place.

It’s called Land Between the Lakes. It was unreal beauty.10660174_4582697381813_2715076493501113930_n[1]

We left on a Saturday morning. Once we got close we stopped in Grand Rivers and ate at Lite Side bakery and Garden Café. It was good, but it was also expensive. The kids meals were just really pricey. That’s what made it so rough. But the food was awesome though.

We filled up on gas and then drove into LBL(Land Between the Lakes).

I can anticipate things too much and then be disappointed. Its honestly my fault and could be considered some idolatry. I have to be careful because I have been this way with birthdays, holidays and other events. Well, to be honest, driving over that bridge into LBL, I was ecstatic.

Arriving I didn’t know what to think. It was everything I had imagined. Forest, Forest and Forest. It was exactly what I had hoped for. We stopped first at the Nature Center. That was a pleasant surprise. We didn’t expect it to be as cool as it was but it was pretty cool. They had a miniature zoo. The animals were pretty awesome. The kids got to hold a snake and we saw wolves (including a baby).

After leaving the nature center we realized we needed to get our camping spot. We drove to Energy Lake Campground and had great help from the staff member working the reservations. He got us setup after we drove and picked out a spot.

Once we got to our spot and started unpacking we decided to unpack the most important item, the tent.

Sissy eating a Dagumit. For those who don't know these are a Singleton family tradition. There is a long story to why we call them Dagumits. But they are good. Just take aluminum foil and throw meat, potatoes, vegis, butter and some seasoning and wrap it all in a ball. Toss it in the fire and grab it in a couple minutes. May take 10-20 minutes depending on the fire. But you open it up and its amazing.

Sissy eating a Dagumit. For those who don’t know these are a Singleton family tradition. There is a long story to why we call them Dagumits. But they are good. Just take aluminum foil and throw meat, potatoes, vegis, butter and some seasoning and wrap it all in a ball. Toss it in the fire and grab it in a couple minutes. May take 10-20 minutes depending on the fire. But you open it up and its amazing.

Thankful for this tent.

Thankful for this tent.

Of course while unpacking it we realized that we didn’t have the poles to set it up.

BUT luckily I brought an extra tent my friend Caleb gave to us.

We setup the tent. Got out the food. Put on the bug repellant and started working on the fire.

We never got the fire going. I suck at starting a fire. Luckily we got great help from the staff member who brought his own personal charcoal over to help us.

After we ate our Dagumits we all walked down by the lake and watched the sunset while skipping rocks.

Us by the lake before we decided to start skipping rocks.

Us by the lake before we decided to start skipping rocks.

It was great. Then we ended the night in classy style with smores, stories and eventually went to bed. The kids in the van and Kendra and I sharing the tent. The tent wasn’t really big but worked out good.

The next day we woke early and drove to the Elk and Bison refuge. After that AMAZING experience we went back to our area and made breakfast on the camping stove.

The rest of the trip was amazing. Adrian and I got crazy and went into the lake while Kendra and Justyss were reading. Then we made hotdogs for lunch. Packed up and drove home.

LBL is an awesome place. This will be where my family and I will camp from here on. It’s wild. It’s rugged. It’s beautiful.

 

Leave a Reply

