Shut Up!

As a child I always heard that you should listen twice as much as you talk and that’s why God gave me two ears and one mouth. I never understood as a child how this principle applied to the rest of my body but I got the point of what was being said.

Listening is rare. I want to say it’s a lost art but I’d be lying to act like human nature is to listen and to be fully engaged into people. In actuality, my tendency naturally is to talk over people and not pay attention to anything they said until I get my two cents out. I have to intentionally seek to be a good listener.

It wasn’t something important to me until I came across bad listeners and realized that I at times am one. Maybe you saw the value in listening. These are some ways I have seen the value in being a good listener.

1) Meeting a person who talks too much.

2) Realizing that you probably were the person talking too much afterwards.

3) Meeting someone who is a good listener.

4) Seeing good leadership that listens well.

5) Seeing leaders who don’t listen well.  

We can all tend at times to not listen well.

Whenever I do, I immediately think about it and feel foolish.

But in the same token when I have met people who are good listeners, they have stuck out in huge ways to me. Some of the strongest leaders I know are great listeners.

Take some time today to think about how well you listen to other people. In the past couple days has someone opened up to you about anything. Were you being a good listener or just wanting to say your two cents? Here are several Proverbs117_3383.jpg that have encouraged me to become a great listener:

*Even a fool who keeps silent is considered wise; when he closes his lips, he is deemed intelligent.
Proverbs 17:28

*Do you see a man who is hasty in his words? There is more hope for a fool than for him.
Proverbs 29:20

*The way of a fool is right in his own eyes, but a wise man listens to advice.
Proverbs 12:15

*A fool takes no pleasure in understanding, but only in expressing his opinion.
Proverbs 18:2

*Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.
Philippians 2:4

*When words are many, transgression is not lacking, but whoever restrains his lips is prudent.   
Proverbs 10:19

*Whoever keeps his mouth and his tongue keeps himself out of trouble.
Proverbs 21:23

*A wise son accepts his father’s discipline, But a scoffer does not listen to rebuke.
Proverbs 13:1

*He whose ear listens to the life-giving reproof will dwell among the wise.
Proverbs 15:31

Leave a Reply

