The Hood or the Woods, I’ll take both please.

Downtown via:Courier JournalI don’t know if you’d call me an oxymoron. Firstly, I’m not gonna appreciate the moron part of it. Secondly, I don’t think that these two aspects of myself contradict each other.

For those that don’t know me, my life’s call is to Urban Ministry. I have been doing Urban ministry for about nine years now in some capacity. I love the city. I have lived in New York, Indianapolis and Louisville. I really have a heart for the inner-city.

It’s tough because with that many people don’t understand why it is I am so passionate about the city and seeing people in the city come to know God. But it is an honest call God has put on my life. It has definitely been hard. It has presented it’s share of challenges. I have been through a lot of trials in it that have brought much grief. But like anyone else doing ministry, I have had the privilege of seeing the hand of God at work in ways that I can’t explain.moose-wilson-road--630x472[1]

The oxymoron to some though is that while my life’s call is to Urban ministry, I am a mountain man at heart. I love camping and doing outdoors things. I am a nature guy. And it’s tough for many to swallow because it shows some complexity to me. Don’t the two contradict each other?

Well that is the difficult thing for me. I love both. And I need both. You stick me in the mountains for months, eventually I’ll be ready to be back in the city. You leave me in the city for too long and I’m gonna need to get away to the woods.

I need the woods and the hood. Both.

That was something that I learned in the DeVos Urban Leadership Initiative. I need to have something that helps me to be constantly filled up when doing ministry.

I can approach it like I’m he-man and I’m going to tough it all out but to be honest, I’m not in Urban Ministry for a short time. I’m in it for the long haul. This isn’t a sprint, it’s a marathon. I want to be doing Urban ministry 20, 30 and 40 years from now it God allows it.

Leave a Reply

