When Panel Discussions Go Wrong…

Let’s quit dancing around the elephant in the room.

As I watched the video that has shown a group of reformed pastors speaking of the disgrace found to them when seeing the reformed hip hop movement, I wasn’t shocked. My jaw did not drop. I became angry. I became upset and heavily disappointed. But I was far from shocked.

Growing up and living in the south with an African-American wife, I have become quickly aware of the continual existence of racism. It isn’t something that is as blatant as it used to be in the south but it’s also far from over as we can see in this video.

[vimeo:http://vimeo.com/80291749%5D

It doesn’t disguise it’s self as being anything but critiques of differing cultures. And I am not denying the relationships these men may have with other cultures in their personal lives.

But I can tell you we all know the closed-door conversations. The one’s that start by looking to see the skin tone in the room. They happen everyday. They are everywhere to be found. They are sinful, hateful and ultimately hurtful to those in the body of Christ.

How is it that I can talk about race when these men never mentioned it?

They didn’t have to. It is covered in the guise of Hip Hop. They are not critiquing drum beats or flat-billed hats, they are criticizing a culture of people that they are far from.

I am hoping that this will bring to light the sinful racism that is running rampant in the hearts of believers in our day. I hope that things like this get called out by well-known influential pastors that can shine light on the hateful racist seeds that are rooted into these ideas.

Ck out Aliens in the Promised Land By Anthony Bradley, he tells some really painful stories of the race struggle.

(PS Why have a panel discussion where everyone agrees? Shouldn’t the purpose of a panel be to have multiple perspectives? Just saying.)

2 responses to “When Panel Discussions Go Wrong…

  1. Great response. I am currently visiting a friend in KC Missouri, and was warned about the people that live here. My friend live in a predominantly black neighborhood. After visiting many of the stores, it became obvious to my wife and I that the advice given was racially motivated. The people around here are awesome to say the least. When we come to this issue with our minds already made up, we see what we expect. I am blessed to have many native African friends, from Milawi and Monrovia Liberia, as well as many black friends from this country. Racism still in the church is poison.

    • Thanks tons for your response. It is really unfortunate that today racism is still going strong.The way it shows its self is different.many times like you said, its subtle and noticed after The fact.

Leave a Reply

