Me and Mine

I have found myself in an odd but not surprising point.

I want fame. I want followers. I want glory.

There! I said it. It’s out there.

It’s tough to be a follower of Jesus who claims to be about his fame and glory and realize that in a way I want my own.

In Jay-Z's recent Album, Magna Carta Holy Grail, Jay spent time telling how fame and success are things he hates and thrives off of. But obviously he tells of the Idol that fame has become for him. He just may not know it yet.

In Jay-Z’s recent Album, Magna Carta Holy Grail, Jay spent time telling how fame and success are things that he hates but also thrives off of. Obviously, he tells of the Idol that fame has become for him. He just doesn’t know it yet.

I want to preach sermons that will be talked about years after I die.

I want to live a life that impacts this earth for centuries after my death.

But the fame I want, the followers I want, the glory I want is hard to reconcile. I can easily stop at this point and say that most of what I want is the flesh and I must deny it. Put it to death. But being in ministry, having my life called to the Kingdoms work, it’s not that easy.

Alot of these desires I have are good desires when things are in perspective. I’d like people to hear my sermons because I want people to hear Jesus who are from the rougher side of the tracks.

It is good for me to want people to hear of Jesus. It is good for me to want to be on a big stage to tell others about him.

__________________________________

But being in ministry, I have realized that many of us can be tempted to lifting our names for our glory and fame instead of us hoping we can get on the big stage just to lift Jesus high.

Like my Pastor’s have always told me, Just Remain Faithful.

One response to “Me and Mine

Leave a Reply

