I heard God’s voice, and he doesn’t sound like James Earl Jones

When I think of God’s voice, there are several audible voices I think of. Mufasa on Lion King. Morgan Freeman. Something that is strong, steady and constant.

But to be honest, outside of hollywood, I don’t know other examples of God’s voice. There aren’t many times where I have heard God’s voice speak to me.moose-wilson-road--630x472[1]

One time though I was on a deserted road in Moose, Wyoming. It was coming upon dusk, I didn’t have a car and there was no town or anything for miles. I was walking down the road while singing several praise songs in hopes that if I had come up on a bear or large predator that they would run off hearing my horrible renditions or maybe just simply they would be spooked.

Watching the sun creep closer to the mountains was a beautiful and daunting sight as I had hoped to make it out of the area by sundown. But in a moment where I had reached my destination(an overlook), I felt the desire to let out a somewhat awkward yell/roar(whichever seems more masculine). It was a moment where my manhood was echoing on the outside how I was feeling on the inside. At the moment I had stopped, the echos had ended and I was confronted with complete wild silence. In that silence I had heard a distinct voice that spoke to my heart regarding the journey my life has been on. The voice was God telling me that he was bringing a new stage of manhood along my journey. I knew he was talking about a wife. I began dating my eventual wife that month.

page4_picture1_slide_2[1]Another time that I had heard God’s voice was while volunteering with refugee children at a Community Center, helping them with their homework. I had been at a point in my life where I had lived my life outside of God’s will. I knew that I needed a change. I began volunteering with kids in different project housing areas because I knew my life needed change. But what I really needed was a church home.

While driving home and praying I peered to my right and saw a church building and in that moment I heard God tell me that I needed to be at this church that Sunday. I ended up joining that church and meeting my eventual wife there. It was an amazing place I dearly loved.

God’s voice never was audible for me. It has always came though when he was shifting my life in a different direction to be MORE apart of his kingdom. Marriage was apart of that plan and joining a church was too.

He didn’t sound like James Earl Jones or Morgan Freeman. But when he spoke, change was inevitable.

One response to “I heard God’s voice, and he doesn’t sound like James Earl Jones

Leave a Reply

