Sin, Culture and the Gospel

One of my favorite preachers, Ravi Zacharias has said that the problem with throwing mud at others is that you get your hands real dirty and you find yourself in a hole. I don’t desire to write this entry but I have seen a disturbing trend of Christians being misled by a man that I do not know. As a leader with New Breed Church, I cannot be silent on such a tough subject that needs to be addressed.

Sin has completely covered and swarmed this earth. It is groaning because of sin. The people in this earth are all endrenched with Sin.

Romans 3 goes into detail to speak of the depths of our sin. Adam brought sin into the world and everyday we practice his actions. We confirm a need for the new and better Adam(Jesus), a better representative. Verses 10-12 of Romans say’s:

10 “There is none righteous, not even one;
11 There is none who understands,
There is none who seeks for God;
12 All have turned aside, together they have become useless;
There is none who does good,
There is not even one.”

This world is completely flawed and made dirty by Sin. It runs through the veins of this world.

I remember when I started to see the real issue. I was in a school that didn’t preach legalism but in several ways practiced it. I remember thinking to myself as rules were being piled up that, “I can’t do this.” And I was right. Like the OT law, I had seen a need for a savior. My righteousness was only contingent of Jesus and the Cross. His righteousness is the righteousness I need. The bondage of trying to be “good” in this sinful body wasn’t working with all of these rules piling up.

I remember that as I realized all of this, things started making sense. I saw that the legalism that was happening was in hopes that I could get right with God. Be declared right because of all this. And then his grace swallowed me up. I understood that all of these rules wouldn’t make me more holy. They wouldn’t make me right in his eyes. They were to show me that I need him. He(Jesus) is the only way I can be righteous in the eyes of God.

They used to tell us that everything was sin. Drums in music are sin. Singing certain ways is sin. Moving your body certain ways is sin. The rules didn’t stop. They kept coming. Going to the movie theater was sin. It never ended. And I wished for so long that I could stand up and say, YOUR MISSING THE ENTIRE POINT!!!! THIS WORLD IS FILLED WITH SIN!

If you try to find the sins in a culture and people group, it’s like Where’s Waldo for infants. It’s easy. Just point in any direction and you’ll find something marred by sin.

G Craige Lewis has made quite a name for himself. His entire message has been focused on Hip Hop Culture being demonic. He traces the roots of hip hop into demonism.

His videos give the same feeling as anyother conspiracy theory video. They are put together with a decent quality but focus completely on Christian hip hop stars and how they are spreading demonic activity.

I honestly didn’t feel like addressing this because in some ways I feel this is a joke but I have realized that many people have become swayed by this man and his message of division and conspiracy which is an attempt to elevate his personal ministry and his name.

Hip Hop is a culture. Hazakim did an excellent job explaining the flaws within G Craiges critique. I will just say this though, every culture is flawed by sin. Every culture is misconstrued by sin. Because of that, every culture is founded by sinful people. It used to kill me when people would argue over a bible translation saying that this translator was this sinner, that translator was that sinner. They are all sinners. This whole world has been impacted by sin. Within every Redeemed thing you will find a sinful origin.

Francis Crosby wrote about 9,000 hymns. She wrote many famous one’s including “Blessed Assurance” and “Safe in the Arms of Jesus”. She used to use many non-Christian songs musically to put her words to. William Booth of the Salvation Army did the same thing but actually used many popular bar songs and changed the lyrics to Godly ones.

The point I am getting to is that Jesus came to redeem. He redeems the sinned and stained of the world. Lewis’ argument is based off a preconcieved notion that there are good and bad objects and places. He has a bad understanding of the gospel. This is the type of Christianity that sways you not to cuss in church and to have a Sunday-Only religion. “Don’t watch movies, they’re the devil.” “Don’t listen to any music with a beat because drums originate in demonism.”

The difficult thing for people like Lewis to understand is that Jesus redeems. That which Satan meant for evil, God means for good. He takes the us, dirty, depraved sinners. We make ourselves enemies with God. Yet he redeems us. For those that had struggled with sex before marriage, he redeems the beauty of it within marriage. For those that used to use strong language to rip people apart while unsaved, Christ can redeem that raw and uncut quality to use your language for his glory. Preaching and confronting for the gospel instead of being harsh just because. And as well, for those who are saved and used to be rappers, they can still use their gifts for the glory of God.

I praise God that he will allow a flawed, stained man like myself, to lift my nasty, dirty hands in worship to him knowing that I don’t deserve to even stand before him. My connection to God is of no act or capability of my own, it’s all because of the cross. It’s all because of the perfect life of Christ.

My prayer is that as you read this and consider the many youtube videos posted that cause division among God’s people consider two things:

  1. Christ prayed the night before his death for our unity as believers.
  2. Titus 3:9

9 But avoid foolish controversies and genealogies and strife and disputes about the Law, for they are unprofitable and worthless.

4 responses to “Sin, Culture and the Gospel

  1. Truth babe! Gods word is the truth! Nothing on this earth is good not one thing. It all has to be redeemed by God!

  2. this is awesome mark! So true and needed man!

Leave a Reply

