Top 5 Movies of 2011

To keep going with top 5’s of 2011. I’m going to give my top 5 movies of 2011. I realized that I rely heavily on old movies throughout the year. I don’t go to the movies a lot and rarely do I really like the movie. But this list is some I’ve liked.

#5 Cars 2

I actually have yet to see the first Cars. But I was with our kids from the Boys and Girls Club and they really liked it. I liked it too. I thought that it was overall entertaining and I realized how much I still like kids movies.

#4 Mr. Poppers Penguins

I had a conversation with a friend recently about how Jim Carrey’s comedy can be annoying. But I am really impressed with how he does in these family films and serious roles. This movie I went on a date to see, it was really good.
#3 The Adjustment Bureau

The preview for this really left me enthralled. I saw the preview though almost a year before seeing it. I actually really liked this one despite tons of people criticizing it. The plot really had me taken in. I am one of the few I guess. Matt Damon has gotten ripped pretty hard regarding this one. But I still say #3 for movies I saw in 2011.

#2 Limitless

Let me go ahead and tell you, I love Fight Club. I love the style and speed of the movie. I love the cinematography. Everything. I felt a Fight Club-ish feel with Limitless. Was it good as Fight Club? No. Not at all. But I  still really liked the plot, speed and cinematography to this one.

And for my #1…

#1 Biutiful

I know, I know. You’re probably saying, what? Well, I saw this on a plane flying over the ocean on my way to India. It’s a foreign film. And it’s…absolutely amazing. I don’t need to say much but if the trailer doesn’t look interesting to you, then just quit your job, move into a cabin in the woods and spend the next 10 years writing haiku’s because that would be more productive than living a life not liking trailers like this one.

 

Honorable Mentions:
Actually, these movies are some I haven’t seen that I have a feeling would be in my top 5 if I had seen them…

Tree of Life

Hugo

WarHorse

Leave a Reply

