Successful

“I just wanna be, I just wanna be successful.”

Trey Songz and Drake

This just might be the song of our generation. Drizzy was on point when he wrote this. And to be honest, It’s not just the thought that you see from Non-Christians. It’s the mantra coming from everyone. It’s spelled out in different ways. We have to redefine terms because “Success” means different things to different people. If I was back in the slums of Mumbai, India, and asked a street kid what success is to them they would give completely different answers then many of us on this side of the ocean would. If I went to the Seminary where I am doing my studies at and asked them what it means, I would receive a different answer then I would from a student at the local University.

Is it sin to want success for our lives?

Let’s be real. There is no reason to beat around the bush about it. If I posed this question on the seminary’s campus on weather or not you want to be successful, people would be torn up on how to answer it. Not because we don’t know the answer. We know the answer to the question. The problem is we don’t know if we are wrong to want to feel that way.

This is a difficult question to answer because we have seen the term success brutally mishandled by money hungry pastors and false prophets of all types. We have also seen how many people have falsely pursued success and laid at the alter their wives, kids and ministries to achieve “success”. On that alter many are willing to put the truth up there as long as they can achieve without ever having been called out.

I don’t believe it is a sin to seek to be successful in our lives. That being said, I have to qualify that statement because many will misunderstand what I am saying. When I say success, I am meaning accomplishment of a set goal or vision attained at an early stage. Meaning, success for me is to live my life as the apostle Paul, that at the end I can say, “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.” I want to be a good steward of all that God gives me and live my remaining days bringing all the glory I can to him.
That’s success in my eyes.  If that happens as a pastor, teacher, writer or just as a guy who works at the airport, then I will be satisfied. I used to get caught up in titles and positions. Bump all that. In the kingdom of heaven, Christ could care less about your earthly titles and positions.

Outside of the money, cars, clothes and (smh)other things Drake mentioned, I actually do want to be successful.

Leave a Reply

