Departure for India

In the first book of the Lord of the Rings series, The Fellowship of the Ring, Frodo and Sam had come to a point in their journey when they had realized that they were going the furthest out of the Shire then they had ever been. They knew that taking the steps beyond where they had come, would bring many question marks but in the same way, adventure was inevitable. As fictional as that story is, I can say that at this point and sitting here at this laptop that I am at the same point in my life that they were at. Standing on the edge of my Shire and looking out into the unknown. Uncertain about where the path ahead would lead but also certain that the path ahead would definitely bring a journey that would challenge and shape me.

I am excited about the opportunity ahead. I know that I have been washed with prayer from every direction. And though I have been on a couple international trips, I know that this will definitely be the most challenging and difficult of trips to go through with. Not because of the people, place or culture necessarily but simply because it will be a time where traveling alone, I will simply have to trust God’s providence more than I ever have.

I want to thank all of the people in my life who have loved and prayed for me regarding this venture. My one challenge through this is that our prayer lives would change towards an intimacy with him that isn’t contingent on a big need but instead is finding simple satisfaction in being his. Where when God is silent, we can enjoy his presence and not demand his response. Like being in a car with someone and needing a conversation instead of enjoying their being and company. I desire that many of us would seek this intimacy with God. An intimacy that isn’t always based on demands or words but sometimes in simply enjoying the fact of who he is.

He is good, and that has been the one statement that has revolved constantly in my mind. To quote another piece of fantasy literature, Chronicles of Narnia, this dialogue gives a good understanding of what I believe God is like in our lives:

“Is – is he a man?” asked Lucy
“Aslan a man!” said Mr. Beaver sternly. “Certainly not. I tell you he is the King of the wood and the son of the great Emperor-Beyond-the-Sea. Don’t you know who is the King of Beasts? Aslan is a lion, the Lion, the great Lion.”
“Ooh,” said Susan, “I thought he was a man. Is he – quite safe? I shall feel rather nervous about meeting a lion.”
“That you will, dearie, abd make no mistake,” said Mrs. Beaver; “if there’s anyone who can appear before Aslan without their knees knocking, they’re either braver than most or else just silly.”
“Then he isn’t safe?” said Lucy.”Safe?” said Mr. Beaver; “don’t you hear what Mrs. Beaver tells you? Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good. He’s the king I tell you.”

Aslan the lion plays the Christ figure in this book series. And I must say that when following Christ, you realize, this isn’t safe. It’s not a safe journey to trek on. It will cost you a deep cost. But it’s a good journey. He is not a safe God to follow. But he is good.

I fly out in a couple hours. Hopefully I can post from India.

I love you all and am excited that I can share this journey.

2 responses to “Departure for India

  1. “”Not because of the people, place or culture necessarily but simply because it will be a time where traveling alone, I will simply have to trust God’s providence more than I ever have.””……you know that was my biggest concern or should I say fear when I was in Haiti. For the first 2 days there it was really hard for me to cope without my “backbones” or should I say without my comforting support until God showed me this verse in 2 corinthians 1:8-10 “We do not want you to be uninformed, brothers and sisters,about the troubles we experienced in the province of Asia. We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure, so that we despaired of life itself.Indeed, we felt we had received the sentence of death. But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead.He has delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us again. On him we have set our hope that he will continue to deliver us”. Amen. What caught my eye of these verses was “that we might not rely on ourselves but on God”. God in His providence helped me depend on Him during my periods of lonliness and uncertainty and I know He will do the same for you. It is well mark. Be blessed.

  2. Wow Ola. Thanks for that word. Well needed.

Leave a Reply

